top of page

5 of My Favorite Healthy Go-To Ingredients & Why



Before I went to school to learn about natural nutrition and the impact food has on our health, I had ZERO concepts of how food can serve more purpose than eliminate our hunger. I found it so fascinating to learn about all the different foods and how each of them individually offered our bodies a variety of benefits. One concept that I was really interested in was that food is more than just macronutrients. Quite often I heard about fats, carbs, and proteins but rarely about the other things food offered us such as phytochemicals, vitamins, minerals, and fiber!!


So in today's post, I wanted to share some of the ingredients I like to use on a regular basis and share the many benefits each of them can have on your health.


First up we have...


Chia Seeds

These bad boys are packed with fiber and essential fatty acids which support a healthy functioning digestive system and nervous system. They are an insoluble fiber that helps speed digestion (preventing constipation) and because of their essential fatty acid content, they are great for nerve functioning and aiding in reducing inflammation. They are so versatile, you can make puddings with them, add them as a topping, or bake them into muffins and cookies to reap the benefits!


Spinach

I can't recommend eating leafy greens enough because of the great benefits they have on your body. Leafy greens like spinach contain chlorophyll which can help support liver detoxification and also promote healthy blood. Spinach is packed with folate, which is needed for blood cell production (think more blood = more energy + better immunity!). Make sure to purchase organic spinach as it's on the dirty dozen list, meaning it is one of the top products that is contaminated by pesticides.


Sweet Potato

Not only are they tasty, but they are also a good source of Vitamin A which helps boost your immune system and can support healthy and glowing skin. Another reason sweet potatoes are my favorite is that they have a low glycemic index (GI) meaning that the digestive system converts the sugar slowly, helping to avoid spikes in blood sugar. I personally enjoy sweet potatoes any time of the day because you can eat them in so many different recipes. Try roasting them with a little bit of olive oil or steam them and add them to egg breakfast muffins as I shared in my recent post here.


Lemon

I drink lemon water every morning, first thing after I wake up, and here's why! Lemon is a rich source of Vitamin C and can help neutralize free radicals that cause disease in the body. They can help increase blood flow, reduce inflammation, and support overall health. I love the taste of lemon water in the morning and find I get an instant pick-me-up. Try juicing lemons and placing them in ice cube trays, freeze and store the cubes in a plastic bag in the freezer for whenever you need fresh lemon juice.


Turmeric

I might have saved the best for last... Turmeric contains curcumin which is a star player in helping reduce inflammation and aids in disease prevention. It's literal gold in my eyes just be really careful using it on white countertops or getting it on your clothing, it loves to leave its mark. I like to add a pinch of turmeric to my scrambled eggs and veggies or oat bowls. You can also enjoy it as a wonderful beverage, typically called a "golden milk" latte. Curcumin is fat soluble so eat it with a bit of fat to maximize absorption.

 
Looking to eat healthier and want to upgrade your pantry?

I have created a free guide for you that includes what items to regularly stock in your home to make nourishing your body easy! Grab the guide here.











413545-325843.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

As a certified Holistic Nutritional Consultant, I understand the weight and frustration of feeling like there is more out there for you, but not knowing where to turn to first. That’s why my mission is simple: give my clients the health and wellness education, tools and resources that they need to feel happy, healthy, and live their best life. 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page